Day 226: Allez Bleu!

Hello!  I am back from my pilgrimage, and it was a great time!  The whole game day experience was unlike anything I had ever witnessed before, and today I’d like to try and convey it to you exactly how my weekend was.

Well as you already know, after I posted on Friday, I hopped in my car and head west for the weekend.  The drive went by quick because I found a pack of “running mates” as I like to refer to them as.  These are the people who ignore all traffic laws and go 90-100 mph on the turnpike.  I like to let these cars pass me and get out in front of me a little, then I follow suit and really open it up.  I made it from Cleveland to Ann Arbor in 47 minutes.  I keed, I keed!  But it did only take me about 2 hrs and 15 mins to get there.  Once I arrived at my buddy Dan’s place, we were both pretty hungry and decided to go grab a bite to eat.  We went to this pretty cool little place called “Sidetracks” in downtown Ypsilanti.  They were famous for their burgers and for the fact that the dining area was 3 feet from a set of traintracks, which had a bullet train go by every 10 minutes at 180 mph.  It’s really cool if you like being startled to death and having to change your pants while you eat dinner.  I guess Oprah went there before and said that their burgers were “one of the 20 best burgers in the country.”  Now I didn’t get a burger, but I find it funny that Oprah went around the entire country, tried every burger in the country, and then made a list of the top 20.  I am not a fan of Oprah.  Anyway, I digress.  After dinner we went back to Dan’s place and met up with another member of our gameday experience.  We sampled some local adult beverages, and then hit the hay so we could wake up at 5:30 am the next morning to start the day.

"I am not a fan of waking up at 5:30 am" says the man who hasn't had a job in almost 8 months.

"I am not a fan of waking up at 5:30 am" says the man who hasn't had a job in almost 8 months.

So Dan, and two of his co-workers from Eastern Michigan joined us at 6 am that morning, and after we asked why we were waking up so early, we headed out to go to the stadium.  We had to make a few stops to get some ice and breakfast.  After this weekend, I have become quite fond of the steak, egg, and cheese bagel from McDonald’s.  It was delicious, especially since I washed it down with a nice, cold, Busch Light at 7 am.

Nothing says "good morning" like a Busch Light at 7 am.  As you can tell by the background, we were one of the first people there.  Dan decided to wear his parking lot colored fleece for the tailgaiting portion of the day.  I swear if it wasn't for his head and the black sleeves, you would not be able to see him in this picture.

Nothing says "good morning" like a Busch Light at 7 am. As you can tell by the background, we were one of the first people there. Dan decided to wear his parking lot colored fleece for the tailgaiting portion of the day. I swear if it wasn't for his head and the black sleeves, you would not be able to see him in this picture.

Here is where we set up our cornhole area right next to the Michigan baseball stadium.  Jim Abbott pitched for the Wolverines, and I consider him to be the best one armed pitcher in the history of baseball.  But that's just me.

Here is where we set up our cornhole area right next to the Michigan baseball stadium. Jim Abbott pitched for the Wolverines, and I consider him to be the best one armed pitcher in the history of baseball. But that's just me.

Needless to say, the next several hours consisted of adult beverage consumption and cornhole.  Once 11 o’clock rolled around, it was time for us to start heading to the stadium.  Across the parking lot from us was Michigan’s Yost Arena, which is where the hockey team plays.  It is apparently one of the coolest venues in college hockey, and it also happened to be where we could go to the bathroom while tailgaiting.  In the lobby of the arena, they had a giant statue of Charlie Brown dressed as a Michigan hockey player.  I took a picture with that statue, and through up a gang sign at the same time.

West side Snoopy!  Peppermint Patty is not impressed.  I heard she was a Blood along with Delonte West.  Here you can see my beautiful Chad Henne jersey.

West side Snoopy! Peppermint Patty is not impressed. I heard she was a Blood along with Delonte West. Here you can see my beautiful Chad Henne jersey.

After that, we headed to the stadium.

Here you can see the ten's of thousands of fans heading towards the stadium.

Here you can see the ten's of thousands of fans heading towards the stadium.

Here we are walking down the street that leads into the stadium.  You can see a lot more fans in front of us, along with Dan in the foreground still optimistic about the Eagles chances.

Here we are walking down the street that leads into the stadium. You can see a lot more fans in front of us, along with Dan in the foreground still optimistic about the Eagles chances.

This was our first view of the stadium known as "The Big House".  It was brought to our attention that we could have tailgated in the parking lot in this picture which is directly across the street from the stadium.  One of the people we were with went all Chevy Chase on us and said "we would be stuck in traffic for a long time."  I mean Chevy Chase in the movie "National Lampoon's Vacation" where he parks at the very back of the park so he can be the first one out.

This was our first view of the stadium known as "The Big House". It was brought to our attention that we could have tailgated in the parking lot in this picture which is directly across the street from the stadium. One of the people we were with went all Chevy Chase on us and said "we would be stuck in traffic for a long time." I mean Chevy Chase in the movie "National Lampoon's Vacation" where he parks at the very back of the park so he can be the first one out.

This picture was taken right as we entered the stadium.  Here you can see one of the new huge press boxes that will be completed next season.  I like to think the light over the corner of the building is Jesus, and he is going to bless this team to a National Championship this season.  Thank you Jesus!

This picture was taken right as we entered the stadium. Here you can see one of the new huge press boxes that will be completed next season. I like to think the light over the corner of the building is Jesus, and he is going to bless this team to a National Championship this season. Thank you Jesus! Or it could be the sun, I don't know.

Here is one of the massive scoreboards that stood right outside of our section.  The electronic scrolling board in the middle of the M said "Welcome Employee of the Month" but you can't really see it in this picture.

Here is one of the massive scoreboards that stood right outside of our section. The electronic scrolling board in the middle of the M said "Welcome Employee of the Month" but you can't really see it in this picture.

Here we are entering the tunnel that leads into the stadium.  At this point, I would say I was 90% erect.  In the business they call that a "slow roaster".  You figure it out.

Here we are entering the tunnel that leads into the stadium. At this point, I would say I was 90% erect. In the business they call that a "slow roaster". You figure it out.

In the stadium.....100% erect.

In the stadium.....100% erect.

This was a view from our actual seats, and you can't really tell because my phone doesn't have a very good camera, but the seats were excellent.  This here is when the team runs out and jumps up and touches the "GO BLUE" banner at midfield while the band plays "The Victors".  It was very exciting!

This was a view from our actual seats, and you can't really tell because my phone doesn't have a very good camera, but the seats were excellent. This here is when the team runs out and jumps up and touches the "GO BLUE" banner at midfield while the band plays "The Victors". It was very exciting!

This is what I looked like when I jizzed in my pants immediately after the team ran onto the field.

This is what I looked like when I jizzed in my pants immediately after the team ran onto the field.

This is a picture of the press box at the stadium.  I took this picture to really try and give a little perspective as to exactly how many people were in the stadium.

This is a picture of the press box at the stadium. I took this picture to really try and give a little perspective as to exactly how many people were in the stadium.

Here is another picture where I tried to show just how many people were there.  The announced attendance was around 108,000 which was how many people were at my high school graduation.  Needless to say, it had been a while since I saw that many people in one spot.  The little girl in the lower right hand corner is afraid of my full blown erection at this point.

Here is another picture where I tried to show just how many people were there. The announced attendance was around 108,000 which was how many people were at my high school graduation. Needless to say, it had been a while since I saw that many people in one spot. The little girl in the lower right hand corner is afraid of my full blown erection at this point and has asked her mom to caress her while she looks at the ground.

This is the end of the game.  In the words of Jonny Drama........"VICTORY!!!!!"

This is the end of the game. In the words of Jonny Drama........"VICTORY!!!!!"

Here we have 108,000 fans trying to remember where they parked.

Here we have 108,000 fans trying to remember where they parked.

And here we have a picture of a stop sign we saw in downtown Ann Arbor that was spray painted to say "Don't STOP believin", like in the Journey song.  This was quite amusing.

And here we have a picture of a stop sign we saw in downtown Ann Arbor that was spray painted to say "Don't STOP believin", like in the Journey song. This was quite amusing.

And that was pretty much it for the pictures.  Oh wait, except for the coolest picture of all!

jawsTHAT’S RIGHT BABY!  THAT IS YOURS TRULY WITH HIS GAME DAY BUDDIES IN THE MIDDLE OF 108,000 FANS.  This is probably one of the coolest pictures I have ever been a part of.  You can see a much bigger, clearer version of the picture here. It was a great weekend and a great experience.  Going to a Michigan game was one of those things I always wanted to do before I died.  It’s always good when you can cross one of those things off of your list.  Next on that list is to have a sandwich named after me.  Well that’s all for today.  Tuley is on the road this week so his Tuesday may be up in the air although he did seem pretty positive he would be able to get a post in from the road.  If not, I’ll take over it for him.  I will talk to you all soon, One Love!

SELAH

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

