Day 331: “The crows seemed to be calling his name, thought Caw…”

Hello!!!  Welcome to 2010 huh?  How was everybody’s New Year’s???  Did you guys all come up with some resolutions for the new decade?  Every year I like to come up with a bunch of different resolutions to see which ones stick.  Like this year, I came up with one where I want to do less laundry and use more deodorant.  I also plan to have more “Who is less competitive” contests, and repeat everything I hear on tv in an Italian accent.

So for New Year’s I headed down to Columbus, OH to go hang out with a bunch of good college friends of mine and some other people who live in the area.  It was a good time.  We got dressed up to bring in 2010 and went out on the town.  I am not a big fan of dressing up for two reasons.  #1 is because I feel like a giant douche whenever I wear a suit.  #2 I have no sense of style.  Like I went out shopping last week for a new shirt and tie and after looking around all morning, I felt like I had picked something nice out, but when we went out I was getting some funny looks and immediately started feeling like a douche.

I don't understand how Craig Sager pulls it off.

Before I left to come back home over the weekend, my friend suggested that we hit up one of the “best burger places in the United States” according to many Columbus natives.  The name of the restaurant was Thurman’s and I guess it was most recently spotlighted on one of my favorite shows, Man vs. Food.  If you have never seen the show, the premise of it is that the host, Adam Richman travels all around the country hitting up famous restaurants and taking on famous eating challenges.  Well last season Adam went to Columbus, OH for an episode, and for one of the segments of the show he went to Thurman’s where he was going to try their world famous, “Thurman Burger.”  That particular burger consists of a 12 oz patty, about a quarter pound of ham, sauteed onions and mushrooms, lettuce, tomato, pickles, some bacon…you name it it’s most likely on there.

The Thurman Burger

Well that burger wasn’t good enough for my crew and I.  We had to try the “Thurmanator” which is the same exact burger, but with double everything on it. And no I am not talking about a restaurant that served African American running backs who played for the Buffalo Bills on its menu….

This is not what I ate.

I am talking about this Thurmanator…..

oh......my........God.......

Now we had to wait 2 and a half hours because the restaurant is the size of my barenstein bears bedroom and the owner doesn’t want to expand because they feel like it will ruin the vibe of the place or something.  Like I mentioned before it was a popular restaurant so it was really crowded on a Saturday afternoon, but the wait wasn’t so bad because they had a vending machine that sold Big League Chew so of course I bought some for the wait.

I never saw a vending machine that sold Big League Chew. I naturally went with "Outta Here Original".

The burger was actually really good if you enjoy having explosive diarrhea and heart pains 24 hours into the new year.  Haha I keed, it was really good…probably one of the best burgers I have ever eaten in my life, but I couldn’t finish mine so all of my stupid friends were giving me a hard time about it.  I never ever imagined I would have to eat a burger with a fork and knife, but that is exactly what had to happen.

I don’t know what it is about massive amounts of food that intrigues me.  Like, I am absolutely enamored by Man vs. Food (and I can’t tell you how excited I was to finally go to a restaurant that was on the show), I think the Nathan’s hot dog eating contest on the 4th of July is the best television on all year, and competitive eating contestants are the only true athletes left in this world if you ask me.  That’s all part of being an American though I guess…I want you to watch these clips from the hot dog eating contest and tell me that the announcers are not the greatest announcers in all of sports.  Eat your heart about Brent Musberger!

“The greatest moment in the history of any American sport”???  ABSOLUTELY!!!  If any of those gentleman started a blog, I would redirect the EOTM site to go to their blogs automatically.  They are lyrical masters, and I can honestly say they have inspired my life.

Alright well I gotta go.  I think I’m gonna bust out the sled and head on over to devil’s hill to show all the high school drop outs how to carve down a hill.  Eric Manginey is talking on tv right now….my dad always told me that if I ever came across a manginey that talks, that I should leave the room immediately.  Alright, I leave you with a haiku….

A manginey talks?!?!
Thurmanator clogs my heart,
Sledding is for kids?

One Love!

SELAH

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

